March 2016

Richie Diehl mushes towards the finish line of the 2016 K300.  Photo by Chris Pike/ KYUK

Richie Diehl mushes towards the finish line of the 2016 K300. Photo by Chris Pike/ KYUK

The Kuskokwim 300 Sled Dog Race is changing leadership. Bethel Native Madelene Reichard is taking over as the new race manager starting April 1.

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Read more →

2016camai

Photo courtesy of Google Maps.

Photo courtesy of Google Maps.

A large tractor has fallen into the Tuntutuliak River near the village of the same name. Now local residents are concerned it could contaminate their water source.

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Read more →

Photo by Ryan Merritt courtesy of Flickr Creative Commons.

Photo by Ryan Merritt courtesy of Flickr Creative Commons.

Public television signals across rural Alaska are switching from analog to digital. You’ll know when your signal has changed when you turn your TV to the Alaska public television station ARCS, or Alaska Rural Communications System, and you see what looks like snow.

“It will be as though the channel is off the air,” said Steve Hamlin, Technical Manager for Alaska Public Broadcasting.

That fuzzy image means the transmitter beaming your TV signal has transitioned from analog to digital, and to continue watching public television, your TV needs to do the same. Read more →

An aerial satellite view of Kwetluk on Google Maps. Screenshot by Charles Enoch.

An aerial satellite view of Kwethluk on Google Maps. Screenshot by Charles Enoch.

Troopers and a deputy fire marshal are investigating the cause of a fire that killed one person in Kwethluk. Officials have released no further information.
Read more →

The USACE presenting the Donlin Gold EIS in Nunapitchuk.

The USACE presenting the Donlin Gold EIS in Nunapitchuk.

Final meetings to collect public comment on the proposed Donlin Gold mine draft environmental impact statement have been postponed. Airborne ash from the weekend’s Aleutian volcanic eruption canceled flights to Aniak today, grounding the teams conducting the meetings in Anchorage. Read more →

Mike Williams, Sr.'s dog sled team. (KYUK Photo File)

Mike Williams, Sr.’s dog sled team. (KYUK Photo File)

George Manutoli of Akiachak has taken first in the Bethel Sprint Club’s inaugural Western Alaska Championship sled dog race with an elapsed time of two hours, 31 minutes, and 56 seconds. Joe Demantle finished less than a minute after Manutoli at 2 hours, 32 minutes, and 12 seconds. Jim George placed third at 2 hours, 37 minutes and two seconds. Read more →

We’re entering the final big push of the 2016 legislature.  One more time I’m writing to you all to ask for you to make one more series of short phone calls during the next two weeks to key legislators in the House and Senate to shore up the existing support in both chambers for the House budget amount of $2.68M in funding for public broadcasting.  In about two weeks the Conference Committee will be making a final decision on our funding: $2.68M or $0.0M or some amount in between.

House of Representatives:

Below is listed the nine member bipartisan group of Representatives that supported the restoration of funds in the House Finance Committee.  During the next two weeks please make a short call to each of them thanking them for restoring funding and to stress the importance of securing the $2.68M in Conference Committee:

Co-Chair Mark Neuman* 800-505-2678   Representative.Mark.Neuman@akleg.gov

Co-Chair Steve Thompson 877-465-3004   Representative.Steve.Thompson@akleg.gov

Vice Chair Dan Saddler  877-460-3783 Representative.Dan.Saddler@akleg.gov

Bryce Edgmon*  800-898-4451 Rep.Bryce.Edgmon@akleg.gov

Cathy Munoz*    800-968-6744 Representative.Cathy.Munoz@akleg.gov

Lance Pruitt    888-478-3438 Representative.Lance.Pruitt@akleg.gov

Les Gara   888-465-2647 Representative.Les.Gara@akleg.gov

David Guttenberg 800-928-4457 Representative.David.Guttenberg@akleg.gov

Scott Kawasaki   866-465-3466 Representative.Scott.Kawasaki@akleg.gov

*Sponsors of successful amendment to restore funds.

It’s also important to contact the following key House Majority members of both parties to encourage their support in Conference Committee for the funding levels that they have already approved in the House operating budget:

Mike Chenault  800-469-3779 Representative.Mike.Chenault@akleg.gov   House Speaker

Charisse Millett 888-269-3879   Representative.Charisse.Millett@akleg.gov  Majority Leader

Bob Herron  800-323-4942      Representative.Bob.Herron@akleg.gov

Benjamin Nageak 888-288-3473   Representative.Benjamin.Nageak@akleg.gov

Neal Foster 800-478-3789   Representative.Neal.Foster@akleg.gov

There were House Minority members who expressed their support for public broadcasting funding early in the session.  It’s important for them to receive calls to thank them for their support and to shore up that support as the Conference Committe and the final days of the session approach.  They need to understand how critical it is to secure the House funding level in Conference Committee:

Andy Josephson      800-465-4939  Representative.Andy.Josephson@akleg.gov

Harriet Drummond   800-922-3875  Representative.Harriet.Drummond@akleg.gov

Geran Tarr               800-303-2455  Representative.Geran.Tarr@akleg.gov

Matt Claman            888-465-4919  Representative.Matt.Claman@akleg.gov

Chris Tuck               866-465-2095  Representative.Chris.Tuck@akleg.gov

Adam Wool             866-465-4976  Representative.Adam.Wool@akleg.gov

Sam Kito                 877-465-4766   Representative.Sam.Kito.III@akleg.gov

Dan Ortiz                800-686-3824  Representative.Dan.Ortiz@akleg.gov

Jonathan Kreiss-Tomkins 888-461-3732  Representative.Jonathan.Kreiss-Tomkins@akleg.gov

Ivy Spohnholz         866-465-4940  Representative.Ivy.Spohnholz@akleg.gov

The Senate:

The following four members of the Senate Finance Committee bipartisan group previously expressed support for restoring funds.  Please call each of them to thank them for their support and to stress the importance of secruing the funding amount already approved by the House in the upcoming Conference Committee:

Click Bishop         800-336-7383    Senator.Click.Bishop@akleg.gov

Peter Micciche     800-964-5733    Senator.Peter.Micciche@akleg.gov

Lyman Hoffman   866-465-4453   Senator.Lyman.Hoffman@akleg.gov

Donny Olson       800-597-3707     Senator.Donny.Olson@akleg.gov

It’s also important to contact the following key Senate Majority members to encourage their support in Conference Committee for the House funding levels:

Kevin Meyer  866-465-4945    Senator.Kevin.Meyer@akleg.gov  Senate President

John Coghill 877-465-3719      Senator.John.Coghill@akleg.gov  Majority Leader

Lesil McGuire  800-365-2995  Senator.Lesil.McGuire@akleg.gov

Bert Stedman 877-463-3873    Senator.Bert.Stedman@akleg.gov

Gary Stevens    800-821-4925  Senator.Gary.Stevens@akleg.gov

Phone calls are preferred but emails will also work.  If, when you call, you hear from a staff member, “yes, the [Senator/Representative] is supportive of the House budget number” then please express your thanks.

Your advocacy efforts on behalf of KYUK and public broadcasting have had a significant positive impact.  Your calls and emails helped get funding restored in the House. Your advocacy is important and is very much appreciated.

Thank you for your continued support for KYUK and public broadcasting across Alaska.

Counting the Sander's votes at the Bethel caucus. (Photo by Dean Swope / KYUK.)

Counting the Sander’s votes at the Bethel caucus. (Photo by Dean Swope / KYUK.)

Vermont Sen. Bernie Sanders swept the Bethel Democratic caucus, taking 67 votes and receiving 14 delegates. Former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton took 13 votes and received three delegates. The caucus’ two other options—Roque De La Fuente and the uncommitted category—received zero votes.

Caucus-goes like Katrina Domnick congregated in Bethel’s Evangelical Covenant Church Saturday morning.

“It’s time to caucus for Bernie Sanders,” said Domnick before the event began.

And in House District 38 that’s what most people did. When it came time for voters to chose their candidates, a mass migration shifted to the Sanders’ side of the room, while a few people slide to the Clinton area. Sixty-seven votes Sanders. Thirteen votes Clinton. Each candidate needed 15 percent, or 12 votes, to obtain a delegate. Read more →

Screen Shot 2016-01-12 at 2.07.56 PM

Bethel Warriors and Lady Warriors competed in their final games of the 2015-2016 season on Saturday. (Photo courtesy of ‘Bethel Warriors Basketball’ on Facebook)

The Bethel Regional High School varsity basketball squads wrapped up their seasons in Anchorage Saturday morning. Both teams played in the fourth place game, which serves as the State Tournament’s consolation championship.

The Lady Warriors took the floor in the gym at Service High School in Anchorage for an 8:00 a.m. tip-off against Grace Christian. Read more →